Don’t Confuse Me For a Hippie!

by Zak Carter

Give us a clear and defined mission when we go to war!

In 2001, I was sent to Kosovo for peacekeeping. We were told at the time that we weren’t going to be there much longer- I believe we are still there. In 2003, I rolled into Iraq. My battalion was one of the first into Baghdad during OIF 1. We were told that once we secured the airport they would start sending the planes to start taking us home. We waited for three days at the airport and those planes didn’t come. They had a parade planned for us back at Ft. Stewart, Georgia and we were told, “Sorry, you gotta go back into Baghdad and suppress the looting now.” Fine. We did that for awhile- well not really- it was ridiculous. There were too many of them and the looting was nonstop. They were even taking generators out of basements.

After that, we were told once again, “We’re sending you home now.” Days went by as we waited for our plane and then, “Sorry, you have to go back into the city and suppress the insurgency.”

And so we did….

That was 2003. I know that the media has told most of America that we are out of Iraq now, but there are still troops there. We’ve built the biggest embassy on the planet in Baghdad.

Give us a clear and defined mission: let us go to war, win the war and come the hell home!

Don’t confuse me for a hippie. I’m not an “anti-war, pro-peace” guy. I don’t have a problem with war- when there is a real threat! Fight the war, win the war, come home.

A lot of us have lost friends. I lost 2 friends in Iraq… after we were told we were done. Why? Oil? Money? Certainly not because we were “defending freedom.” I saw it right away. When I flew home to Seattle from Ft. Stewart, I was wearing my class “A” dress uniform and I was treated like a criminal by the TSA. That was only the first of my experiences that opened my eyes to what the hell is going on in this country.

I served three years on active duty and four in the reserves. When I was in the reserves I looked into getting transferred to a National Guard unit on our border with Mexico. But when I learned that they didn’t have the authority to apprehend people who were crossing the border illegally; when I learned that they didn’t have the ammunition to defend themselves, I changed my mind. In Kosovo, we had the ammunition to defend ourselves and the authority to apprehend criminals; we did it everyday. To learn that we couldn’t do the same thing to defend our own borders, it struck me as wrong. Why are we stationing troops on the border in the first place if we aren’t giving them the tools and authority needed to complete the mission? It’s absolute madness.

Enough is enough.We need a Commander-in-Chief who will say, “We are DONE with the BS!” It’s time to take care of America again… It’s time for Ron Paul!

Zak Carter served active duty Army in 3/7 INF, 3rd ID with an 11B MOS from 2001 to 2004 and in the Army Reserves in 3/485th, 108th Training Division as Range Cadre from 2004 – 2008.

Zak currently works as the Marketing Director for Veterans for Ron Paul 2012.

Contact Zak at zakrevolution@yahoo.com

About CVRP2012

We are an organization of combat veterans who support Ron Paul for President. We do not claim to speak for all Veterans or for any branch of the U.S. Military. But we do speak for ourselves. This website is maintained by independent grassroots supporters. It is not paid for, approved or endorsed by Congressman Ron Paul. Liberty, Peace, Prosperity. Copyright ©2012 cvrp2012.com.
This entry was posted in Election 2012, Foreign Policy, Veteran's Endorsements, Veterans Views and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Don’t Confuse Me For a Hippie!

  1. A MOM. says:

    Awesome stand and Thanks for fighting in Kosovo , it’s my home country ! Ron Paul 2012 !

  2. Vet to end "splendid little wars" says:

    Love this article, thank you. My only nitpick is that I am an old hippie and proud of it. Vietnam was a disaster. I’m old enough to have had a draft card, but, by a twist of fate, I ended up fighting in Iraq instead of Vietnam. Most 1960s anti-war protesters were not anti-troops, a few bad apples made everyone look bad. Iraq and Afghanistan are disasters. I include Iraq because it still isn’t over despite what Obama may say. Being anti-war doesn’t mean all wars, only unjustified wars, even for most hippies.
    Make love not war!

  3. tedvarney says:

    Well put, Zak Carter!!
    As a combat veteran who plied the rivers of the Vietnamese Delta, who came to understand fully the words of General’s Butler and Eisenhower (Yessir, it was obvious even then) in an intimate sense, it is with pride that I read your words.

  4. Glad to hear it! I’ve said it before to you, Nick, Rhys and others: take that entirely justifiable anger and channel it into constructive activity just as you’ve been doing. The creeps are running scared and everyone who can be woken up degrades their influence a bit more and threatens their gravy train.

    Nicely done!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Zak Carter is a true patriot. You shouldn’t confuse him for a hippie ;-}

Leave a Reply

