Back Home

We followed in the footsteps of the ones who came before,
We packed up all our rucksacks and they marched us off to War.
Valley Forge & Gettysburg, the Battle of the Bulge,
Iwo Jima, North Korea, & the War in Vietnam.
In places called Baghdad, Fallujah, Kirkuk, & Tikrit,
From the Peshawar to Kandahar with dessert boots on our feet.
We’ve flown our flag and done our part to carry our orders thru,
Spilt blood, brave hearts, & loneliness is the true red, white, & blue.

And, I don’t know who I am anymore,
A little piece of me never came back from War.
And, I don’t know who I’m going to be,
A little of the War has come home with me.

 We came back from the battlefield to reclaim a normal life,
A soldier just wants to sleep in peace and make love to his wife,
But a bed is just not ever the same when nightmares replace dreams,
And a woman’s touch feels so strange to a man who hears War screams.
Nerves of steel are just no match for a crowded public place,
And a loud & sudden sound can make a Joe jump on his face,
Once you’ve fought so hard, it’s hard to fight the war to live in peace,
Can you imagine how it feels to feel like God forsakes His sheep?

And, I don’t know who I am anymore,
A little piece of me never came back from War.
And, I don’t know who I’m going to be,
A little of the War has come home with me.

By:  Adam G. House,  Jan. 2009      

Dedicated to all my brothers & sisters-in-arms who struggle with PTSD.  You are not alone.  Life is still worth living and hope is worth having, if we so choose.  Peace to us all.

About CVRP2012

We are an organization of combat veterans who support Ron Paul for President. We do not claim to speak for all Veterans or for any branch of the U.S. Military. But we do speak for ourselves. This website is maintained by independent grassroots supporters. It is not paid for, approved or endorsed by Congressman Ron Paul. Liberty, Peace, Prosperity. Copyright ©2012 cvrp2012.com.
This entry was posted in Veterans Views and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

