Choice of the Troops

31 JAN 2012

I used to be Sgt. Carter; I’m just Zak Carter now. 

I served three years active duty Army as part of 3/7 Inf, 3rd ID and four years in the reserves (3/485th 108th Div), and I truly miss it. Being a soldier was much more than just a job for me—it was love of country. Being a part of something bigger than myself provided purpose in my life. I took great pride in wearing the uniform; I was even married wearing it. There is nothing like the brotherhood I had in the Army, and I’ll never have it again. 

However, after learning that our nation’s borders are vastly under-defended and contrasting that with my experiences defending two other nations’ borders overseas, I started educating myself on what was going on in the world, and I could no longer pretend I supported nation building overseas while America fell apart. So in 2008 I looked for a way out and made a video that would ensure the end of my service. 

Today, I stand by every word I said four years ago. Our nation’s borders remain under-defended while we’re going broke and borrowing money from China and the Saudis to continue nation building overseas. With our 15 trillion dollars of debt, we have a weak dollar no longer tied to gold, but rather to empty promises from a bygone era when we had a strong manufacturing base that hadn’t yet been shipped off to Asia. 

And all of this while our Constitution is seen as an inconvenient bump in the road to go around instead of the road map it was intended to be. The oath I took when I raised my hand and joined the Army was to defend the Constitution, and its greatest enemies today are not in Iran, North Korea, Venezuela, or Cuba, but in Washington DC. They are right here, and they are the bureaucratic establishment. Combine that with our national debt currently being our biggest national security risk, and it’s really time we start taking care of America again and let the rest of the world pay its own way for a while. Returning to the Constitution will show us the way.  

I’m a conservative; I believe in limited government and an exceptional and strong America, but I’ve seen first hand the waste we’re engaging in overseas, and I believe we’ll never have a limited government here at home if we support big government solutions overseas. 

My biggest fear is that we’ll face an economic collapse and leave all of our troops stranded overseas with us unable to send them the supplies they need to function as an effective fighting force. Our men and women in uniform would never deserve that kind of indignity, and that’s another reason we need to rethink our foreign policy. 

All of this leads me to why I support Ron Paul for President. Ron Paul’s non-interventionism is not only the sole foreign policy we can realistically afford right now, it’s also the policy that George Washington and many of the other founding fathers promoted, and one we would be much safer with today. Ron Paul’s across the board limited government consistency has something behind it that all of the other candidates lack—a rational philosophy. 

I’m not the only veteran who thinks this way. All of those I served with and am still in touch with today feel the same way, and some eye-opening proof of this support can be seen in the campaign contributions to Ron Paul from those who are still active duty military. Ron Paul has raised more money from our men and women in uniform than all of the other Republican candidates combined. Ron Paul is the choice of the troops, and because they can’t speak out without breaking UCMJ, I, with a whole bunch of my friends, am planning something pretty spectacular.  

Veterans for Ron Paul are going to march on the White House on Presidents’ Day, February 20th. If you’re a veteran and you support Ron Paul, I hope you’ll join us. We’ll have a rally at the Washington Monument at noon and start marching at two o’clock. Dress smart and bring your family. Family members are invited to walk behind our formation, and supporters are encouraged to line our route from the Washington Monument to the White House. 

I believe in a brighter tomorrow, a respected Constitution, and a restored Republic. I believe Ron Paul is the wise man to get us there, and I hope you do too. I hope to see you on Presidents’ Day. Thank you and God Bless. 

http://www.facebook.com/#!/events/192677970828185/   

In Liberty,

Zak Carter

Contact Zak at zakrevolution@yahoo.com

About CVRP2012

We are an organization of combat veterans who support Ron Paul for President. We do not claim to speak for all Veterans or for any branch of the U.S. Military. But we do speak for ourselves. This website is maintained by independent grassroots supporters. It is not paid for, approved or endorsed by Congressman Ron Paul. Liberty, Peace, Prosperity. Copyright ©2012 cvrp2012.com.
This entry was posted in Election 2012, Foreign Policy, Veteran's Endorsements, Veterans Views, Video and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

