Blowback: Army Captain explains why he supports Ron Paul

My name is Captain Jack R. Thompson, of the U.S. Army. I served from May 2000 until January 2010 and was deployed to Iraq in 2003 and 2004. Later, I was activated in support of Afghanistan operations from 2009 to 2010. I led over 400 missions in Iraq, most of which were routine patrols, but also several search and destroy, prisoner transport, route clearing, and IED demolition missions. I also managed infrastructure construction projects with local national contractors in Iraq, and handled security pass identification and issuance with all contractors and employees assigned to those projects.

It didn’t take long after my arrival in Iraq to learn that the excuse that “they hate us because we are rich and free” was a bald-faced lie.  It also didn’t take long for me to realize that Iraq had no part of 9/11, and was not involved with Al-Qaeda.

It became dramatically obvious on the very day that Saddam was captured, during my 3rd month in country, that the people of Iraq were only tolerating our occupation because they really did want Saddam gone. Once he was captured, they dropped all pretense of toleration, and made it clear in both words and actions that continued occupation and the checkpoints, raids, curfews, blockades, and tyranny that go along with occupation would no longer be acceptable. Our job was done, and we needed to go home.

When we stuck around, they began to fight us. It was clear to me at that time, that the Iraqi insurgents only fought because we were there. They did not want to be occupied by a foreign military.

In the 2004 primaries, I was casting my support behind General Wesley Clark in the Democratic Primary, because he was the only candidate who understood this concept of blowback. When he lost the primaries, and John Kerry ran against George Bush, I could not support either party. I ended up casting my absentee ballot for Ralph Nader with the Reform Party that year as a protest vote.

In 2007 when I first learned about Ron Paul, I knew I had finally found a candidate that actually understood what motivates hatred against America. It is the tyranny that we impose abroad, both directly through our military interventionism, our bombing campaigns that kill innocents, our sanctions that deprive innocents of basic supplies, and indirectly through our propping up of brutal dictators, our financial aid to both sides that perpetuates conflicts, and our overthrow of justly elected leaders. Someone who actually understood blowback and presented the constitutional platform of declared war, and the Christian philosophy of Just War.

Only Ron Paul understands and is equipped with the knowledge to execute a Foreign Policy of Peace and Freedom.

Captain Jack R Thompson
US Army (Armored Cavalry)

About CVRP2012

We are an organization of combat veterans who support Ron Paul for President. We do not claim to speak for all Veterans or for any branch of the U.S. Military. But we do speak for ourselves. This website is maintained by independent grassroots supporters. It is not paid for, approved or endorsed by Congressman Ron Paul. Liberty, Peace, Prosperity. Copyright ©2012 cvrp2012.com.
This entry was posted in Election 2012, Foreign Policy, Veteran's Endorsements, Veterans Views and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blowback: Army Captain explains why he supports Ron Paul

  1. Thank you very much for speaking out I wish more from the military would because there are so many Americans who “truly” do not understand because we have been lied to by the media and politicians and we just don’t know what to believe. I know I hope and pray every day that Ron Paul will not give up this time because I followed him last time he ran and was devastated when he dropped out because I KNOW for a fact that there are so many Americans like me that just didn’t vote last time because I am not going to vote for some idiot who is going to destroy our wonderful country.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for speaking out. I sometimes wonder how much of what I’m coming to accept could actually be true. It’s always felt wrong, but I couldn’t express adequately how or why. From what you describe, Ron Paul and some others like Rep. Dennis Kucinich are aware of the damage we’re doing as a nation, despite the desire to do good.

    Thank you.

  3. I’m glad that you had the guts to say what needs to be heard by Americans.

  4. Terrie says:

    Thank you for speaking out! I agree only Dr. RON PAUL understands the value of LIFE! Yours, ours, our children and even the unborn future generations that will have to pay for the greed of some unless they are stopped. Unless the wars are stopped. Thank you for your service. I wish it would have been home in America with your family protecting the American people instead of helping attack other nations that we had not legally declared war against, your oath to the Constitution was for the sole purpose of protecting American soil and American lives not bombing and rebuilding other sovern nations.

Leave a Reply

